Walks And Walking: Porthmadog Wales Walking Route

Walks And Walking: Porthmadog Wales Walking Route

Porthmadog Walking Route

Porthmadog is a very beautiful area for walking routes and a central location for walks and walking in Snowdonia. In the Spring of 2010 I walked around the Porthmadog walking route which included the fantastic harbour, Ffestiniog Railway and the Afon Glaslyn.

Porthmadog Harbour Wales Walking Routes

Porthmadog Harbour Wales

Just by the bridge there is the Tourist Information Centre which was the start of my walk. I continued up the road away from the river to the roundabout signposted Tremadog A487. I turned left at the roundabout up the road past the church on my left and then cutting in to the forest path on my left opposite the Snowdonia Press and a small retail park.

It was then a short but quite steep climb up through trees to a ladder stile again climbing straight up to the top of the hill to join another pathway where I turned left to a viewpoint where the path then went downhill veering right and then left to the caravan park on my right.

Walking along the road by the caravan park I joined the road heading downwards towards the main road where I turned right at the junction and veered left on to the minor road before turning left at the footpath sign. I then walked through a gate to the next one before walking along a fence on my left hand side.

By the next gate I was at the seafront by Borth-y-Gest where I turned left to cross the road and walk up the path steps with the road on my right. I then continued to walk ahead until I reached the road by Afon Glaslyn looking out to the sea to find the Cei Ballast Island on my right. I then followed the natural path until I returned back to the start.

I then walked back to the pub that advertised crab sandwiches and popped in for one complimented by a pint of the local ale feeling quite content at covering quite a light walk at nearly 3 miles and only taking me just over an hour to work up an appetite for some very good beer!

I recommend buying your walking clotheswalking boots and walking accessories for all types of walking routes from these highly reputable online retailers found in the Walks And Walking Shop

Leave a comment