Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route

Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route

Forty Hall Enfield was built in 1632 and has undergone extensive refurbishment with the aim of being Enfield’s star attraction offering an excellent Hertfordshire walks. The weather was a constant drizzle so I had my waterproof walking jacket on which normally lives in my rucksack. I also decided on gaiters anticipating the mud after all this rain we have been having. However, the walking routes were mainly on very well maintained pathways, solid tracks and lanes so I hardly got muddy at all.

Walks And Walking - Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route - Forty Hall

Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route – Forty Hall

This walking route starts at Forty Hall Enfield where I parked up in their car park and then walked up to take a quick photo of Forty Hall before walking back down to the road and walking left up Forty Hill road to join the London Loop at the signpost and stile on my left hand side opposite Forty Hill Primary School.

I then walked to the next London Loop signpost with Turkey Brook now on my right hand side entering a truly delightful woodland area with large ponds on my left hand side where I spotted a Heron. I continued on the London Loop following the main footpath sign posts to a metal stile and then on to the Local Heritage Trail signpost at New River to the next London Loop waymarker where I then crossed straight over the road by the Rose And Crown Pub car park.

Walks And Walking - Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route - Heron at Turkey Brook Ponds

Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route – Heron at Turkey Brook Ponds

Walks And Walking - Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route - Local Heritage Trail New River

Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route – Local Heritage Trail New River

I then entered Hilly Fields Park walking passed the London Loop Enfield section information board keeping right as the tarmac path forks at the next london Loop waymarker downhill to the meandering stream turning right at the end and on up to the lane and church. I then walked left down the lane crossing over the railway tracks now joining the Chain Walk all the way up through the golf course to the road at Crews Hill where I turned right and walked down through the garden centre capital of the world! As the road then bends sharp right I turned left up the private road passed the converted Glasgow Stud buildings on my right hand side walking straight up underneath the M25 along Burntfarm Ride passed the delightful Burnt Farm Cottage.

Walks And Walking - Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route - Burnt Farm Cottage

Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route – Burnt Farm Cottage

Walks And Walking - Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route - Chain Walk

Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route – Chain Walk

At the junction of paths by the signposts I then walked right still keeping to the Chain Walk keeping right at the next signpost for Silver Street to then join Oldpark Ride all the way along to Temple Bar crossing over Broom Hills with the roundabout to the left hand side to the newly built school where I then walked right along the pathway following the signposts to the large metal green footbridge over the canal. I then walked right underneath the road to then cross over the next road following the signposts for the New River Path.

The New River is neither New or a River as it was originally built in 1609 as an aqueduct to bring fresh spring water from Ware all the way down to Islington in London. I then walked along the New River Path turning right at the next signpost along a track and then up some steps where I then walked left over the M25 bridge. I then walked left at the junction and then followed the road right at Capel House back down to Forty Hall car park taking me just over 3 hours and covering a very easy 10 miles.

Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route Map

Walks And Walking – Hertfordshire Walks Forty Hall Enfield Walking Route Map

 

Leave a comment